Blowing my own trumpet

What I do

I don’t really intend to use this blog to blow my own trumpet (much – not when I have a small child to do that for me),  but I’m quite unreasonably proud of this:

Technical Analysis: Using the Relative Strength Index.

I’m afraid you will need to register as a Thomson Reuters customer, but we’re working on that.

We decided to take an alternative look at creating online learning for technical analysis in the financial field. We wanted to take our short, sharp approach and see if we could create a short module that told a user everything they needed to get started with a technical analysis tool.

So where did we start? The primary source was our SME responsible for technical analysis. The SME had an idea for some on-demand snippets on applying technical analysis in Thomson Reuters products. Somehow his draft scripts ended up on the eLearning team’s desk, and I drafted a script that had the presenter explaining the analysis, working with animations produced by our inhouse Flash expert.

The biggest challenge from our point of view was the combination of the presenter and the animation. Previous versions of these modules had an onscreen presenter who waved vaguely at the screen. This kind of worked, but the video team weren’t comfortable with the process. This time I took an idea from The Boss, who suggested we use the SME as the narrator and concentrate exclusively on the animation for visuals. The SME was based in NYC (he has since left the company), in the same office as the video team, and off he went to the studio.

It worked! Under strict supervision from the pros, he recorded a really lovely, engaging and personable version of my/our script. I’ll overlook the fact that he made changes during the recording that he “forgot” to tell me about. I’ll even overlook the seemingly endless back-and-forth, and stripping away of most of our special effects, because the end result was pretty good, and unique, and useful.

Leave a Reply

