Checking in and going back

Good ways to learn stuff, Interactvity tips and ideas, Mmm...nice., What I do
stock-photo-happy-businesswoman-with-clenched-fists-screaming-while-looking-at-computer-in-office-143837233

This, apparently is a “Happy businesswoman”…

Yeah…so, about a week after I wrote that last blogpost, I had an interview with my old mates at Thomson Reuters. There was an opening for a role that was fairly similar to my old role from years ago, but with a new boss, new structure, and working on a knotty project that would require me to come up with some really creative learning solutions.

 

Oh, and a bit more money.

It turned out that I had missed the old place; the temperamental kettle taps, the meetings about meetings, the orange…so much orange… So, I’ve been back at Thomson Reuters for several months now. I’ve got more creative freedom and a bit less responsibility – in fact I’ve been told to be less intense.

So there you go, that’s the career update. But I wanted to show this:

http://pin.it/Y7UtqTn

It’s a video showing how to create an origami flower. I like origami. But I really just wanted to note how they use overlays and non-verbal cues to instruct the user on creating a very complicated paper flower.  The music is…well..it reminds you that you’ve still got a video running.

It made me think, how could you do it better?

Could you, say, add a menu, so you can go back to cue points and re-run sections on folds. Perhaps a bit of navigation? Does it really need that music?

 

 

Leave a Reply

